Embedding formative assessment – Professional development with Dylan William

What a great way to finish a busy week!  Yesterday I spent the day at the Novotel attending “Embedding Formative Assessment with Teacher Learning Communities” with Dylan William

I left the conference yesterday on a high about how such material could transform my skills and innovate my teaching practice, my brain was so full of insights and ideas that it could quite easily have exploded… When the initial excitement dies down the challenge will be finding the time to implement what I have learned!

Some very interesting points from the day include:

  • We are preparing students for a world we know nothing about! It is essential that students have the ability to adapt to new situations.
  • The impact of setting and unpacking CLEAR learning intentions.
  • Understanding and counteracting the ‘multiplier effect’.
  • Understanding the role of hinge questions.
  • Providing feedback that moves the learning forward.
  • Pedagogy should always trump curriculum. 

In the spirit of making the most of my PD, my intention is to:

  • Conduct an audit of my own formative assessment strategies and identify goals for development.
  • Identify strategies from Williams’ research and implement these into my teaching practice over time.
  • Discuss teacher learning committees with my school AITSL committee. 

What do you typically do to implement ideas from conferences?

One thought on “Embedding formative assessment – Professional development with Dylan William

  1. Hi Penny,
    That is a good question. Often I commit to sharing what I’ve learned & hope that others think it interesting,and, together work to implement /adapt the idea. Certainly in YLC meetings it is an expectation that ideas & info is shared at the next meeting. I know this is not re formative assessment, however, it has become the climate & expectation of the group. At the very least the research & trends are shared.
    In teaching Time, of course, is often the difficulty. I used to kerp a ‘store’ of strategies & ideas , sometimes divided into Yr8, 9/10, 11/12 -often looked at when reviewing/designing a new unit or doing unit/term planners. Once you’ve met your class a few times, & have a handle on its ‘personality’, some ideas & strategies leap out. With implementation some become very much part & parcel of your own style.
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

